【自己揀先至係老闆】精明解讀強積金開支比率

好好管理強積金的基本功,就是了解強積金的基金表現和收費水平。不過,基金表現並非能以一時三刻作準,因為強積金是一項長線投資,毋須過份擔心市場的短期波動。除了回報,打工仔亦應留意基金開支比率,因為這會直接影響你的強積金投資回報

善用積金局「格價平台」

強積金制度經歷二十個年頭,已進行了多項的革新,積金局致力令制度的透明度增加。當中,「強積金基金平台」可讓計劃成員更方便比較強積金基金的收費及表現,基金開支比率會在積金局網站定期更新,並披露基金管理費的主要組成部分:分別為(一)行政費、受託人費及保管人費、(二)投資管理費及(三)保薦人費。解讀這些「拆細」後的收費有助計劃成員了解其投資及所接受的服務是否物有所值。

基金開支比率是指強積金基金的總開支佔基金資產值的百分比,根據積金局網站資料,20077月至202011月期間,以所有成分基金整體計算的平均基金開支比率,由10年前的2.06%降至1.44%簡單而言,成員每100元的基金投資,其中的1.44元便是年度開支使費。

這些開支一般包括基金管理費(包括計劃受託人營運計劃的行政費、受託人費、保管人費及投資經理所收取的費用,是基金收費的主要部分)和某類基金所收取的特別收費。

 

比較基金的要訣

值得留意的是,不同類別的基金會有不同的基金開支比率,例如:貨幣市場基金的開支一般較低,股票基金的基金開支比率則會較高,因為管理這兩類基金的複雜程度不同。

假設強積金基金A的總投資回報為每年5%及基金開支比率為1%。你的$1,000供款透過投資於強積金基金A,經扣除$11收費後,所買入的基金單位在首年年尾的總值會升至$1,040。至第5年年尾時,你所支付的費用將累積至$57。在扣除這些費用後,你手上的基金A的單位總值會升至$1,214。可是,如果你投資強積金基金B的話,雖然總投資回報同樣為每年5%,但是由於它的基金開支比率為2%,在首年你需要支付較高的收費($21),而所持的基金價值只可達至$1,029。在5年後,你要繳付的總收費為$111,而基金價值亦只可累積至$1,154。如以上例子顯示,基金A的持續成本列表低於基金B,即表示不論投資年期多長,投資於基金A的成本均持續低於基金B

 

參考例子:

投資期

基金A

(基金開支比率=每年1%)

基金B

(基金開支比率=每年2%)

1年期

$11

$21

3年期

$33

$65

5年期

$57

$111

假設條件•總回報率=每年5%•第一年開始時的供款金額= $ 1,000•所有其他直接費用(例如供款費、買入/賣出差價及權益掀取費、提取費)=

#注意:上述數字經四捨五入; 詳細請參閱積金局宣傳文件

總括而言,計劃成員在選擇強積金計劃和基金時,須考慮不同的因素。除了解基金收費外,計劃成員亦應考慮產品(計劃及基金)、受託人服務和個人因素。故此,你不應只單憑收費較低而選擇某一強積金計劃和基金。

 

 

投資涉及風險,本資料只供一般參考用途。如欲了解個別強積金計劃和基金的收費詳情,你應查閱有關計劃的強積金計劃說明書內的收費表。

馬上投資您的財務將來!

提供您的基本資料我們方可為您跟進!

home-get-started

[Be the boss by choosing your own funds] A smart interpretation of the MPF expense ratio

The foundation of good management of MPF is to understand the performance of MPF funds and the level of fees. The performance of the fund cannot be calculated solely based on a very short period as the MPF is a long-term investment and there is little benefit being too concerned about short-term market fluctuations. In addition to returns, employees should also pay attention to the fund expense ratio, as this will directly affect the return on your MPF investment.

Make good use of the MPFA's "Price-Checking platform"

The MPF system has undergone 20 years and many innovations have been carried out. The MPFA is committed to increasing the transparency of the system. Among them, the "MPF Fund Platform" allows scheme members to compare the fees and performance of MPF funds more easily. The fund expense ratio is listed on the MPFA website and updated regularly. It discloses the main components of fund management fees: (1) administration fee, trustee fee and custodian fee, (2) investment management fee and (3) sponsor fee. Interpreting these "subdivided" charges helps members understand whether their investment and the services they receive are worthwhile.

Fund Expense Ratio (FER) shows the total amount of expenses charged by an MPF fund as a percentage of fund size. According to the information on the MPFA website, from July 2007 to November 2020, the average fund expense ratio of all constituent funds fell from 2.06% to 1.44%. In short, for every $100 invested in the fund by a member, $1.44 of it is an expense per year.These expenses mainly include management fees (including administration fees, trustee fee and custodian fee for trustees to operate the MPF scheme and the fees charged by investment manager(s), which are the major components of the fees and charges of a fund) and other special charges for particular types of funds.

Tips on funds comparison

It is worth mentioning that, FERs often vary by fund type; money market funds generally charge lower while equity funds usually have higher FERs. This is due to the differences in the complexity of managing these two types of funds.

Under an assumed rate of return of 5% and an FER of 1%, and your contribution amount is $1,000 at the beginning of 1st year, the net value of your holding of Fund A will be $1,040 at the end of 1st year after deducting $11 from your contributions. At the end of 5th year, your holdings in Fund A will grow up to $1,214 in value after netting the aggregate cost of $57 for 5 years. If you invest in Fund B whose FER is 2% and the rate of return is also assumed 5%, your holdings in Fund B will reach $1,029 in value at the end of 1st year given you need to bear a larger cost of $21. By the end of 5th year, the total cost will be $111 and the net value of your investment in Fund B will be $1,154. Given the On-going Cost Illustrations of Fund A are lower than that of Fund B, the dollar costs of investing in Fund A are consistently lower than Fund B, regardless of the length of your holding period.

 

Reference illustration:

Investment Period After

Fund A

(FER=1% per year)

Fund B

(FER=2% per year)

1 Year

$11

$21

3 Year

$33

$65

5 Year

$57

$111

 

 

Assumptions • Gross return = 5% per year • Contribution amount = $1,000 at the beginning of 1st Year
• All other direct charges (e.g. contribution charge, bid/offer spread, withdrawal charge) = Nil
P.S The above figures are rounded; kindly check with MPFA materials for details 

To conclude, scheme members are advised to take into account various factors when choosing MPF scheme(s) and fund(s). In addition to fees and charges, scheme members should also consider factors such as products (scheme and fund), range of services provided by trustees and their own personal factors. Hence, it is not advisable to select an MPF scheme or fund simply because of its lower fee.

 

Investment involves risks. This information is for general reference only. For details about the fees and charges of the MPF scheme and fund, please refer to the fee table in the relevant MPF Scheme Brochure.

Start investing in your financial future

We need your basic information to get started!

home-get-started