信安每月觀點(2021年12月)

問:信安資金管理(亞洲)投資管理團隊

答:信安資金管理(亞洲)高級投資策略師陳曉蓉

 

問:美國聯儲局或加快結束買債計劃,對未來美國貨幣政策走向有何預期?

答:開展縮減買債計劃不足一個月,在剛過去的聯儲局議息會議上,局方決定明年一月起,提升每月縮減買債目標規模一倍至300億美元,整個買債計劃或於明年3月中結束。美國或於買債計劃結束後一段短時間內,踏入加息周期,最新點陣圖顯示,政策委員認為明年或加息三次。美國通脹高企加上勞動力市場改善,支持聯儲局相關決定,惟加息步伐或較我們原先預期進取。

消費者需求維持強勁,供應鍵問題持續,加上能源成本上漲,美國通脹現正處於近四十年的高峰。近期數據顯示,通脹籃子當中多數物價的升幅都比正常高,層面比起單是經濟重啟帶動的物價上漲更廣泛。短期內,當地通脹面對Omicron的威脅,通脹壓力或仍進一步攀升,直至2022年第一季後開始紓緩,並於2023年底前重返接近但高於2%的水平。整個正常化過程或需時約兩年,比我們一開始推算的時間更長。

維持物價穩定以外,聯儲局另一政策目標是實現充分就業。美國11月失業率意外回落至4.2%,勞動參與率升至61.8%的疫情以來最高。隨著美國經濟2022年繼續改善,預計更多美國人將重返就業市場, 2022年上半年失業率或降至4%以下,並於明年底達至「全民就業」。

按照目前的路徑,聯儲局或將於明年六月前後首次加息,然後九月及十二月再分別上調一次。不過,通脹壓力明年中後逐步紓緩,加息步伐或無須過份進取,避免對經濟帶來過大衝擊,及流動性過快收緊導致金融市場出現大幅波動。2023年及2024年或每年再加息兩次。

投資市場或於醖釀加息及加息初期出現波動,惟股市升勢通常不會改變,直至加息周期結束前才開始掙扎。即使在 2004 年至 2006 年期間,聯儲局連續 17 次加息,標準普爾 500 指數的年均總回報率達 10%以上。聯儲局今次的決定,同時為市場消除一個關鍵的不明朗因素。股市明年回報較大機會持續領先債市,當中,成熟市場包括美國繼續看高一線。

 

問:疫情對環球經濟的影響會否再度深化?

答:縱使疫苗接種比例持續提升,環球疫情表現依然反覆,疫情對經濟及投資市場的影響仍未消退。11月末南非發現新冠病毒變種病毒株Omicron。根據世界衛生組織(WHO)官員表示,新變種病毒Omicron會逐漸取代Delta變種病毒成為主導病毒株。儘管Omicron引起的症狀或較Delta輕,但它傳播速度快,現有的疫苗對Omicron病毒株的保護效果較差。

環球七日平均確診數字再次回升,從十月中低位約40萬水平,回升至目前的超過60萬,確診數字在全球超過50個國家仍在增加,確診數字最高的國家包括美國、歐元區主要國家及英國。新冠肺炎疫情的進展,新一波疫情持續的時間,及不同國家的取態,依然是投資者來年要注視的風險因素。一旦各地政府因為新一波疫情再次採取大規模封鎖隔離措施,將為環球經濟帶來負面影響。

以歐洲作例子,縱使有超過三分二人口已接種疫苗,當地疫情再度深化。奧地利實施全國範圍封禁措施,防範新型肺炎疫情進一步擴散;德國亦有部分州政府封城。不過,在高接種率支持下,我們傾向相信歐元區政府會在不對經濟及消費造成重大打擊前題下採取相應措施應對,有限度實施限制措施,例如商店及餐廳提早關門,及收緊疫苗接種政策。當然,一旦更多國家跟隨奧地利的做法,或持續一段較長時間,將對歐元區第四季經濟增長帶來負面影響,實質影響取決於限制措施的深度及廣泛程度。

美國已表明無意封城,新變種病毒對經濟的影響預期相對較小。不過,投資者仍需留意Omicron變種病毒株會否再度加劇供應鏈短缺問題,延長高通脹時間,並逼使聯儲局更進取地收緊貨幣政策,引發資產價格調整。

 

問:2022年資產該如何部署?

答:從幾個方向去分析,首先是經濟。展望2022年,環球經濟增長雖然持續放緩,惟約4%至5%的增速依然理想並高於長期平均,即使經濟擴張周期的高峰已經過去,從前瞻經濟數據去看,甚至非常接近步入下行周期,但不代表資產價格將會回落;參考歷史數據,在這個周期當中,不同股市、債市甚至另類資產都有正面回報。

隨著環球央行逐步收緊貨幣政策,市場波幅上升,環球金融狀況過去一季加快收緊;然而股市依然吸引資金流入,截至11月,資金流入股市規模達到去年全年近5倍。隨著聯儲局啟動收緊貨幣政策,美國主權債息將伴隨加息預期而於2022年向上,在實質利率上升帶動下,美國十年期債息或於2022年底觸及2%水平,惟實質利率仍將維持在負數區域,意味著實際債券收益率為負,支持風險資產如股市的表現。

基本因素方面,所有主要資產類別目前估值都相對昂貴;另一邊廂,明年整體環球企業盈利增長將會正常化,增幅預期將由今年的46%顯著放緩至明年的6%,較高營運成本的影響或將逐步浮現,盈利上調空間預期較今年有限。綜合上述因素,我們預期股票回報仍將領先,2022年第一季,股票維持輕微看好,但隨著經濟及盈利增長放緩、通脹上升和金融狀況收緊,明年股市整體回報或相對2021年落後。當中,成熟市場尤其美國及歐洲可以繼續看高一線,日本、亞洲及中國中性,香港輕微看淡。週期性價值股如金融及工業板塊的表現,可能相對領先。

債券方面,債息緩慢上升,對與通脹呈負相關性的傳統債券投資如主權債相對不利。由於具有息差優勢,加上與經濟發展關連度較高,高收益債有機會受惠通脹向上,尤其是低存續期高收益債券,或有助降低潛在利率風險。投資者亦可以考慮從傳統核心債券組合,轉向其他同樣提供潛在穩定收益的資產,如優先證券。

股市債市以外,在通脹升溫的背景下,大宗商品及房地產信託基金(REITs)等另類資產或能受惠,並有助分散投資組合風險。大部分REITs收入來自租金及管理費用等,在通貨膨脹的時候,房地產租金往往隨之提高,因此持有REITs有望能對冲通脹風險。另外,REITs在經濟放緩的周期,表現亦尤其突出。

(於2021年12月10日撰寫)

Crystal Chan

信安資金管理(亞洲)
高級投資策略師 陳曉蓉

資料披露
投資涉及風險。本文件中就任何特定基金或產品所提及的過往表現未必可代表相關基金或產品的未來表現,而且本文件中所提及的任何基金或產品的價值可跌亦可升。您於決定投資之前,不應單一依賴本文件。投資回報並無保證,您可能無法取回全部投資本金。當您作出任何投資選擇前,您必須考慮自己可承受風險的程度及財務狀況。

如果您對本文件中提及的某些基金或產品是否適合您(包括那些基金或產品是否符合您的投資目標)有疑問,您必須徵詢法律、財務、稅務、會計及其他專業意見,以確保您作出的任何投資決定切合您的情況及財務狀況,並且選擇適合您的基金及╱或產品。

本文件之內容於發佈當日來自被認為是準確及可靠的資訊,但當您查看本文件時,本文件所載資訊可能已不再是真實,準確或完整。本內容僅供參考之用,並不構成要約、招攬或邀請、宣傳、誘使、或任何種類或形式之申述,或訂立任何本文件中所提及的基金及╱或產品交易的任何建議或推薦。本文件並無意被視為任何特定投資及或一般市場的預測、研究或投資建議,亦無意被視為預測或保證任何投資表現。本文件之內容並無考慮任何投資者的投資目標、特別需要或財務狀況。您不應將本文件之內容視為一個能依賴的全面性闡述。本文件中所有以任何形式表達的觀點會隨時更改而不另行通知。

在沒有抵觸任何法律規定的前提下,本公司、本公司的任何聯屬公司、或本公司及本公司的任何聯屬公司的任何僱員或任何董事,概不保證及擔保本文件所載資訊的準確性,亦概不對本文件的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何責任。


本文件為信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司所擁有,如未取得信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司的事先書面同意,任何人士或機構均不可以任何方式及為任何目的修改、複製、傳送、儲存或分發任何內容。

本文件資料由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司提供。

本文件並未呈交香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會審核。

本文件由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司刊發。

馬上投資您的財務將來!

提供您的基本資料我們方可為您跟進!

home-get-started

Principal Monthly Viewpoints (December 2021)

Q: Principal Asset Management (Asia) Investment Management Team

A: Crystal Chan, Principal Asset Management (Asia) Senior Investment Specialist

 

Q:The U.S. Federal Reserve intends to end its tapering earlier than expected, what will be the future direction of U.S. monetary policy?

A:Less than a month after commencing the tapering, the Fed has decided at its most recent meeting to double the scale of its tapering to $30 billion a month from January 2022 onwards. The entire program may end in mid-March as a result. US may enter the interest rate hike cycle shortly after the end of the bond-buying program. The latest dot plot shows that the committee members believe interest rates may be raised three times next year. High inflation in the US and an improving labor market support the Fed's decision, but the pace of interest rate hikes may be more aggressive than we have originally expected.

With consumer demand remaining strong, supply chain issues persisting, and energy costs surging, US inflation is at its highest in nearly four decades. Recent inflation data reflect that the increase in prices of most of the goods is higher than normal, which means prices are rising more extensively and may not be only due to the economic reopening. In the short term, in face of the threat of Omicron, inflationary pressures in the US may continue to rise until after the first quarter of 2022. The data may return to levels close to but higher than 2% before the end of 2023. The entire normalization process may take up to about two years, which is longer than our initial expectations.

Apart from maintaining price stability, full employment is another objective that the Fed is required to achieve. The US unemployment rate unexpectedly dipped to 4.2% in November and the labor force participation rate rose to 61.8%, the highest since the outbreak of the pandemic. With the US economy on the path to sustain positive growth in 2022, more Americans are expected to return to the labor market. The unemployment rate may drop to below 4% in the first half of 2022, and full employment may be achieved by the end of next year.

According to the current path, the Fed may raise interest rates for the first time around June 2022, followed by another two hikes in September and December. However, inflationary pressures may gradually ease during the middle of next year. To avoid excessive impact on the economy and large fluctuations in financial markets triggered by the rapid tightening of liquidity, the pace of interest rate hikes should not be overly aggressive. During 2023 and 2024, interest rates may be raised twice a year.

Investment markets may be volatile in the run-up to and during the early stages of a rate hike, but the uptrend in the stock market usually stays unchanged until the end of the rate hike cycle.. Even during the period from 2004 to 2006, the Fed raised interest rates 17 times in a row, the annualized total return of S&P 500 reached more than 10%. In fact, the Fed eliminated a key market uncertainty by making this decision. In 2022, stock market returns are more likely to continue to outperform bond markets. Among them, we continue to prefer the mature markets, including the US.

 

Q:Will the pandemic have a further impact on the economy?

A: Despite the continued increase in vaccination rates, the world has yet to contain the effects of COVID-19 on the economy and investment markets. According to WHO officials, the Omicron variant discovered in South Africa at the end of November will gradually replace the Delta variant as the main variant of the disease. In spite of its symptoms being milder than Delta, Omicron spreads quickly and existing vaccines are less effective in the protection against the Omicron variant.

The global seven-day average of number of confirmed cases has rebounded from a low of about 400,000 in mid-October to the current level of over 600,000. The numbers are still rising in more than50 countries, with the highest counts of confirmed cases in the US, major Eurozone countries and the UK. Development of the pandemic, duration of the new wave and the stance of various countries remain the risk factors which investors should focus on in the coming year. Should a new wave of cases induce widespread lockdowns once more, the global economy would be adversely affected.

The situation in Europe has worsened despite over two thirds of its population having been vaccinated. Austria has imposed nationwide lockdowns to prevent the virus from spreading, while some state governments in Germany have also decreed lockdowns. Nonetheless, given the high vaccination rate, we tend to believe Eurozone governments will adopt limited restrictive measures that have limited impact on the economy and consumption, such as early closure of stores and restaurants and tightening vaccination requirements. However, if more countries follow Austria's lead and implement restrictive measures for extended periods, the Eurozone’s economic growth in the fourth quarter would undoubtedly be harmed, with actual impact depending on the strictness and extensiveness of restrictions.

The US has made it clear that it has no intention of imposing lockdowns and therefore the new coronavirus variant should have relatively minimal impact on its economy. In spite of this, investors should remain wary of Omicron further disrupting supply chains and extending the duration of high inflation, which could force the Fed to tighten monetary policy more aggressively and trigger asset price corrections.

 

Q: How should assets be allocated in 2022?

A: We can analyze this question from different angles, beginning with the economy. Looking towards 2022, although the global economic growth continues to slow down, while 4-5% global economic growth rate is still ideal and higher than the long-term average. While the economic expansion cycle has passed its peak, forward-looking economic data revealed that it may be very close to or even at a declining regime, asset prices may not be poised to fall. Historical data showed that various equity, bond and alternatives had recorded gains during this cycle.

Market volatility rose as central banks around the world began to tighten monetary policy; global financial conditions tightened quicker during the past quarter. However, stock markets were still able to attract capital inflows. As of November, the amount of capital flowing into stock markets was nearly five times greater than the total amount of last year. Since the Fed has started to restrict monetary policy, yield of US sovereign bonds may rise in tandem with expectation of rate hikes in 2022. Propelled by rising actual rates, yield of 10-year US Treasuries may reach 2% by the end of 2022. But with real rates remaining negative, actual bond yield will also be negative, supporting the performance of stocks and other risk assets.

In terms of fundamentals, valuations of major asset classes are relatively expensive. On the other hand, overall earnings growth of global corporations is expected to normalize next year, falling considerably from 46% this year to 6% next year. The impacts of higher operating costs will gradually emerge, and upward adjustments in earnings are expected to be limited compared to this year. Based on the aforementioned factors, we predict returns from stocks to stay ahead of the curve. We are slightly constructive on stocks in the first quarter of 2022, but with the slowing economic and earnings growth, inflation on the rise and tightening financial conditions, overall performance may lag behind in the next year compared with 2021. Among them, we are still optimistic about the developed markets, in particular the US and Europe; neutral in Japan, Asia and China; and slightly bearish on Hong Kong. The performance of cyclical value stocks, such as those from financial and industrial sectors are more likely to outperform.

As for bonds, slowly rising yields are unfavorable to sovereign bonds and other traditional bonds that are negatively correlated to inflation. Stronger inflation may benefit high yield bonds, which possess a spread advantage and are more correlated to economic development. This is especially true for high yield bonds with low duration, as this may help mitigate potential interest rate risk. Investors may also consider switching from traditional bonds to preferred securities and other assets with potential stable incomes.

In an environment of rising inflation, besides stocks and bonds, alternative assets such as commodities and REITs may benefit and help diversify portfolio risk. As income from REITs is mostly generated from rent and management fees, and rent usually rises in times of inflation, holding REITs can help hedge against inflation risk. Additionally, REITs had performed exceptionally well during economic slowdowns.

(Written on 10th December 2021)

Crystal Chan

Crystal Chan
Senior Investment Specialist
Principal Asset Management (Asia)

DISCLOSURES
Investment involves risks. Past performance of any particular fund or product mentioned in this document is not indicative of future performance of the relevant fund or product, and the value of each fund or product mentioned in this document may go down as well as up. You should not invest solely in reliance on this document. There is no assurance on investment returns and you may not get back the amount originally invested.
You should consider your own risk tolerance level and financial circumstances before making any investment choices. If you are in doubt as to whether a certain fund or product mentioned in this document is suitable for you (including whether it is consistent with your investment objectives), you should seek legal, financial, tax, accounting and other professional advice to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to that your circumstances and financial position, and choose the fund(s)/product(s) suitable for you accordingly.
The information contained in this document has been derived from sources believed to be accurate and reliable as of the date of publishing of this document, and may no longer be true, accurate or complete when viewed by you. The content is for informational purpose only and does not constitute an offer, a solicitation of an offer or invitation, advertisement, inducement, representation of any kind or form whatsoever or any advice or recommendation to enter into any transactions in respect of the funds/products referred to in this document. This document is not intended to be relied upon as a forecast, research, or investment advice regarding a particular investment or the markets in general, nor is it intended to predict or guarantee the performance of any investment. The information does not take account of any investor’s investment objectives, particular needs or financial situation. You should not consider the information as a comprehensive statement to be relied upon. All expressions of opinion and predictions in this document are subject to change without notice.
Subject to any contrary provisions of applicable law, neither the companies, nor any of their affiliates, nor any of the employees or directors of the companies and their affiliates, warrants or guarantees the accuracy of the information contained in this document, nor accepts any responsibility arising out of or in connection with any errors or omissions of the contents set out in this document.
This document is the property of Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited that no part of this document may be modified, reproduced, transmitted, stored or distributed to any other person or incorporation in any format for any purposes without Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited’s prior written consent.
Source of this document is from Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited. 
This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.
This document is issued by Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited.

Start investing in your financial future

We need your basic information to get started!

home-get-started