信安每月觀點(2021年6月)

問:信安資金管理(亞洲)投資管理團隊

答:信安資金管理(亞洲)高級投資策略師陳曉蓉

 

問:環球經濟復甦前景如何?

答:今年以來,受惠環球經濟復甦、疫苗的進度及大規模財政貨幣政策的延續,環球經濟前景持續改善,國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)早前將今明兩年全球增長預測上調。不過,世界各地的經濟復甦時間及步伐不一,增長力度亦存在明顯差異。當中,中國及美國是環球增長動力火車頭,美國GDP預期可在今年超越疫情前水平; 而中國經濟的增長步伐領先。其它發達及新興市場國家經濟要恢復到疫情前水平,或仍需等待明年才能實現。

財政政策是帶動環球經濟復甦的重要因素。疫情爆發以來,不同國家推出大規模財政措施支持經濟,令2020年全球公共債務達到接近GDP 100%的創紀錄水平,比例較疫情前大幅上升超過一成。縱使大規模財政刺激令通脹壓力顯著升溫,債市孳息率上升令金融狀況收緊,不過,在疫情得到有效控制前,財政或貨幣政策或仍需維持適度寬鬆,以確保利率維持低企,支持相當的赤字水平。

不過,財政政策空間造成部分成熟與新興市場復甦速度不一的現象。截至今年三月,根據IMF數據,美國已推出的財政措施規模相當於2020年GDP的25%;早前美國總統拜登向國會提出首份財政預算案,尋求6萬億美元預算,可見部分成熟市場有能力繼續增加政府支出。然而,其它較低收入國家則面臨財政政策空間不足的問題。截至三月,新興市場整體已推出的財政措施規模只有4%,拖慢區內經濟復甦進程。

疫苗普及程度亦是影響經濟復甦速度的關鍵因素。整體而言,新冠肺炎疫苗接種規模愈來愈廣泛,截至五月底,全球已接種接近20億劑疫苗,以全球人口推算,接種比率超過12%,數字穩步增長。不過,我們正面對疫苗分配不均的問題,高收入國家疫苗接種速度比低收入國家快超過30倍。例如在美國,疫苗數量足夠覆蓋46%的人口;但在人口較多的亞太區,情況並不一樣。亞洲接種率偏低,全區平均僅5%左右。除了中國及香港外,多個主要地區包括南韓、印尼、泰國、台灣等國家疫苗覆蓋率仍然偏低,有個別地方甚至低於1%。區內疫情走勢仍存在高度不確定性。

 

問:您對亞洲地區看法有何改變?

答:有別於在接種比例相對高的地方例如美國,確診人數較高峰時回落九成;而覆蓋比率較低的地區如亞洲,新增個案的走勢依然反覆。五月初時,印度日增個案曾創40萬新高,第二波疫情感染上升的速度亦明顯加快。其他個別亞太區地方如馬來西亞、泰國及台灣的疫情亦相當嚴峻。為應對疫情,區內不同國家都進一步收緊防疫措施,導致亞洲整體疫情控管指數再次向上,與歐美的情況相反。股市表現亦受到影響,今年以來,美國與歐洲股市分別錄得雙位數回報,相反,亞洲股票回報只有低單位數,表現落後。

礙於區內疫情進展,我們近月下調了對亞洲股市的看法,惟仍然給予輕微看好的評級。我們相信,隨著疫苗在亞洲進一步普及,區內疫情有機會在第三季進一步受控,當防控措施放寬,將有利亞太區經濟重拾動力。例如印度、印尼及菲律賓等,在疫苗接種人數持續上升帶動下,確診案例升勢亦暫時趨緩。

疫情以外,投資亞洲不宜忽略美元走勢。踏入第二季後,美匯指數再次回落至90水平,亞洲貨幣隨即扳回第一季跌幅,重拾升軌。在美國財政、貨幣政策方向不變的前提下,美匯指數短線或於90水平徘徊,暫時缺乏條件顯著反彈,有利資金流向高增長市場如亞洲。事實上,亞洲是美國以外,在今年以來流入規模較大資金的地區。截至五月底,亞太區股市錄得過千億美元淨流入。資金持續流入,我們相信與亞洲經濟增長前景、區內股市股息水平較高及基本因素相對吸引有關。隨著亞洲疫情逐步緩和,區內股市或具潛力再度領先其他主要市場。

 

問:中國經濟增長趨緩,人民幣未來能否維持強勢?

答:第二季以來,隨著美元重拾跌勢,離岸人民幣(CNH)從6.5至6.6美元水平,一度攀升至6.35美元,升幅超過3%,創出三年新高。參考反映人民幣相對一籃子貿易夥伴的 CFETS匯率指數,則曾升至超過五年高位。為緩和人民幣升值壓力,人民銀行十四年來首度上調外匯存款準備金率,官方報章亦多次發表評論文章,嘗試管理市場預期。

以中國四月外幣存款餘額1萬億美元推算,提高外匯存款準備金率2個百分點,相當於凍結境內約200億美元的流動性。隨著銀行體系內的美元流動性收緊,境內外匯資金成本或將提高,此舉旨在減輕境內外匯市場美元沽壓,並緩和人民幣升值壓力。措施公布後,美元兌人民幣連日回升,惟多方面基本因素支持下,人行此舉未必能扭轉人民幣短期持續向上的預期。

中國經濟去年領先全球率先走出疫情陰霾,基數效應下,今年第一季經濟勁增18.3%,尤其內地外貿表現顯著改善,貿易順差持續增加。雖然踏入第二季後,不同領域的經濟數據均顯示,內地經濟增速或將放緩,但全年經濟增速或仍將高達8%左右。因此,內地政策傾向保持經濟穩定的同時,亦將著手解決長期結構性問題,例如高槓桿及潛在資產價格泡沫等。不難推斷,無論財政抑或貨幣政策將繼續正常化甚至逐步收緊。

四月廣義貨幣(M2)按年增長8.1%,數字創兩年新低。和三月份比較,信貸和社會融資規模增長均大幅下降約45%。我們相信,人民銀行年內將繼續通過不同的政策工具以維持適度流動性,整體方向中性偏緊。中國四月PPI創三年半新高,按年升6.8%;雖然暫時通脹維持溫和向上,不過,隨著需求持續改善,在今年較後時間,原材料價格的升勢或逐步反映在物價之上,人行難免進一步收緊貨幣政策。

基於美國預期通脹持續上升,當地10年期債息自年初持續攀升令中美利差收窄,惟當前美國與中國財政與貨幣政策方向存在明顯差異,美國債息升勢踏入第二季後喘定,中美利差維持在較高水平,對外資增持人民幣資產仍具一定吸引力,加劇人民幣升值壓力。自去年五月以來,若以離岸人民幣計算,人民幣匯價從7.2美元低位回升,一度攀升近12%,短期而言,從技術指標去看,有機會上升至6.3美元。

中長線而言,人民幣走勢將主要取決於美國未來貨幣政策的走向。考慮到核心通脹必須較長時間持續高於2%,暫時而言,我們傾向相信最快要到2023年較後期,才有條件加息。隨著美國經濟產出重返疫情前水平,聯儲局有機會於明年逐步縮減買債規模,局方或於今年第四季向市場表達收緊政策的訊息,美元屆時走強的可能性將提升。因此,人民幣或於今年較後時間回吐部分年內升幅,美元兌人民幣年底目標暫看6.5美元。

(於2021年6月3日撰寫)

Crystal Chan

信安資金管理(亞洲)
高級投資策略師 陳曉蓉

資料披露
投資涉及風險。本文件中就任何特定基金或產品所提及的過往表現未必可代表相關基金或產品的未來表現,而且本文件中所提及的任何基金或產品的價值可跌亦可升。您於決定投資之前,不應單一依賴本文件。投資回報並無保證,您可能無法取回全部投資本金。當您作出任何投資選擇前,您必須考慮自己可承受風險的程度及財務狀況。

如果您對本文件中提及的某些基金或產品是否適合您(包括那些基金或產品是否符合您的投資目標)有疑問,您必須徵詢法律、財務、稅務、會計及其他專業意見,以確保您作出的任何投資決定切合您的情況及財務狀況,並且選擇適合您的基金及╱或產品。

本文件之內容於發佈當日來自被認為是準確及可靠的資訊,但當您查看本文件時,本文件所載資訊可能已不再是真實,準確或完整。本內容僅供參考之用,並不構成要約、招攬或邀請、宣傳、誘使、或任何種類或形式之申述,或訂立任何本文件中所提及的基金及╱或產品交易的任何建議或推薦。本文件並無意被視為任何特定投資及或一般市場的預測、研究或投資建議,亦無意被視為預測或保證任何投資表現。本文件之內容並無考慮任何投資者的投資目標、特別需要或財務狀況。您不應將本文件之內容視為一個能依賴的全面性闡述。本文件中所有以任何形式表達的觀點會隨時更改而不另行通知。

在沒有抵觸任何法律規定的前提下,本公司、本公司的任何聯屬公司、或本公司及本公司的任何聯屬公司的任何僱員或任何董事,概不保證及擔保本文件所載資訊的準確性,亦概不對本文件的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何責任。


本文件為信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司所擁有,如未取得信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司的事先書面同意,任何人士或機構均不可以任何方式及為任何目的修改、複製、傳送、儲存或分發任何內容。

本文件資料由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司提供。

本文件並未呈交香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會審核。

本文件由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司刊發。

馬上投資您的財務將來!

提供您的基本資料我們方可為您跟進!

home-get-started

Principal Monthly Viewpoints (June 2021)

Q: Principal Asset Management (Asia) Investment Management Team

A: Crystal Chan, Principal Asset Management (Asia) Senior Investment Specialist

 

Q:What are the prospects for the global economic recovery?

A: The global economic outlook has continued to improve since the beginning of this year due to the progress of vaccines and the continuation of large-scale fiscal and monetary policies. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) had earlier raised its global growth forecast for the next two years. However, the timing and pace of the economic recovery in various parts of the world remain unsynchronised, while there are obvious differences in the intensity of growth. China and the United States remain the engines of global growth. The United States’ GDP is expected to surpass pre-epidemic levels in the later part of this year while China's economic growth is leading the way. Other developed and emerging market economies may have to wait until next year to return to their pre-epidemic levels.

Fiscal policy is an important factor in driving the global economic recovery. Various countries have introduced large-scale fiscal measures to support their economies since the outbreak of the pandemic, bringing global public debt to a record high of nearly 100% of GDP in 2020, a sharp increase of more than 10% from the pre-epidemic era. The large-scale fiscal stimulus has significantly increased inflationary pressures, and the increase in bond market yields has tightened financial conditions. However, until the epidemic is effectively contained, fiscal or monetary policies may still need to remain moderately accommodative to ensure that interest rates remain in the lower region to support deficit levels.

Nevertheless, the headroom between the different fiscal policies has created a phenomenon where the pace of the recovery is different between some developed and emerging markets. According to data from the IMF, the scale of the fiscal measures introduced by the United States as of this March is equivalent to 25% of total GDP in 2020. Earlier, President Biden presented his first budget proposal to Congress seeking approval for US$6 trillion, showing that some developed markets can afford to continually increase government spending. Yet, other lower-income countries are having the problem of insufficient fiscal policy headroom. As of this March, emerging markets as a whole has only introduced 4% of the scale of fiscal measures, which places a drag on the regional economic recovery.

The vaccine receptiveness is also a key factor affecting the speed of the economic recovery. In general, the scale of COVID-19 vaccinations has become increasingly widespread. By of the end of May, nearly 2 billion doses of vaccines had been administered worldwide, representing a steady increase of over 12% of the global population. Nonetheless, we are facing the issue of an uneven distribution of vaccines, with high-income countries receiving vaccines more than 30 times faster than low-income countries For example, in the United States, the vaccines can sufficiently cover 46% of the population, but the situation is different in the more populous Asia-Pacific region. The vaccination rate in Asia is low, with an average of around 5% across the entire region. Besides China and Hong Kong, vaccination coverage in many major regions, including South Korea, Indonesia, Thailand, and Taiwan, remains at low level, with some places even below 1%. There is still a high degree of uncertainty about the trend of the epidemic in the region.

 

Q: Have you changed your views on the Asian region?

A: The number of confirmed cases fell by 90% from the peak in places with relatively high rates of vaccination, such as the United States, while the trend of new cases in regions with lower coverage, such as Asia, remained erratic. At the beginning of May, confirmed cases in India hit a record high of 400,000 per day, which spread faster than before. Other parts of the Asia-Pacific region, such as Malaysia, Thailand, and Taiwan, are also experiencing severe numbers of infections. In response, different countries in the region have further tightened their anti-COVID-19 measures, resulting in another upward trend in the overall Asian pandemic control index, contrary to the situation in Europe and the United States. Stock market performance was also affected, with the U.S. and European stock markets each recording double-digit returns so far this year, while Asian stocks were lagging behind with low-single-digit returns.

In view of COVID-19 situation in the region, we have downgraded our views on Asian stock markets in recent months but remain slightly bullish. We believe that with further vaccination improvement in Asia, there is a chance that the epidemic in the region will be further controlled in the third quarter, and that the relaxation of preventive and control measures will help the Asia Pacific economies regain momentum. For example, the rise in new confirmations has temporarily slowed down in India, Indonesia and Philippines, driven by the continued increase in vaccination uptake.

Beyond the epidemic, we should not ignore the trend of the US dollar when investing in Asia. After second quarter, the US dollar index fell back to the 90 level again, while Asian currencies immediately recovered from their first-quarter losses and regained their upward momentum. In the U.S. fiscal and monetary policy direction remains unchanged, the short-term US dollar index may be hovering at the level of 90, temporarily lacking the conditions for a significant rebound, favoring the flow of capital to high-growth markets such as Asia. In fact, Asia is the region outside the U.S. that has seen larger capital inflows so far this year. As of the end of May, the Asia-Pacific stock market recorded net inflows of over US$100 billion. We believe this is related to the outlook for economic growth in Asia, higher dividend levels in the region and relatively attractive fundamentals. As the Asian epidemic eases, the region may have the potential to outperform other major markets again. 

 

Q: Economic growth in China is slowing down, can the RMB remain strong in the future?

A: Since the second quarter, as the US dollar began its downward trend, the offshore RMB (CNH) exchange rate climbed from 6.5 to 6.6 per US dollar to 6.35 per US dollar, an increase of more than 3%, setting a three-year record high. With reference to the CFETS exchange rate index, which reflects the RMB's relative exchange rate to a comprehensive package of trading partners, has risen to a more than five-year high. In order to ease the pressure on the RMB’s appreciation, the People's Bank of China raised the foreign exchange reserve requirement ratio for the first time in 14 years, and official newspapers have also published several commentary articles to try to manage market expectations.

In reference to China’s April foreign currency deposit balance of US$1 trillion, raising the foreign exchange reserve requirement ratio by two percentage points would be equivalent to freezing about US$20 billion in domestic liquidity. With the tightening of US dollar liquidity in the banking system, the cost of domestic foreign exchange funds may increase, which is aimed at reducing the selling pressure of US dollars in the domestic and foreign exchange market, to ease the pressure of RMB appreciation. After the announcement of these measures, the US dollar rebounded against the RMB for several days, but with the support of various basic factors, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC)’s move may not be able to reverse the expectation that the RMB will sustain its short-term appreciation trend.

China's economy was able to emerge ahead of the rest of the world from the depths of the pandemic last year. With the base effect, China’s economy grew 18.3% in the first quarter of this year. In particular, the performance of domestic foreign trade has improved significantly resulting in the continuous buildup of a trade surplus. Although economic data in different fields has shown that China’s economic growth rate may slow down after entering the second quarter, the annual economic growth rate may still be as high as 8%. Therefore, China’s policy put emphasis on long term structural issues, such as high leverage and potential asset price bubbles, even though they would like to maintain economic stability. It is not difficult to infer that both fiscal and monetary policies will continue to be normalised or even gradually tightened.

The year-on-year broad measure of money supply (M2) increased 8.1% in April, which hit a two-year low. Compared with March, both growth of credit loans and private financing dropped significantly by about 45%. We believe that the PBOC will continue to adopt different policy - during the year to maintain moderate liquidity, with the overall direction being neutral to tight. China’s April producer price index (PPI) hit a three-and-a-half-year high, rising by 6.8% year-on-year. Despite the current moderate upward inflation rate, the PBOC may inevitably further tighten monetary policy to respond to the continuously growing demand and the upward trend in raw materials prices that may gradually be reflected in the PPI later this year.

Based on the expectations of escalating inflation in the United States, the US domestic 10-year bond interest rate has continued to increase since the beginning of the year, which has narrowed the spread between China and the United States. However, the current fiscal and monetary policy directions of the United States and China are significantly different, whilst the increase in US bond interest rates has begun to settle after entering the second quarter. Certainly, the spread between China and the United States will remain at a relatively high level, which is still attractive for foreign investors to increase their holdings of RMB assets and would aggravate pressures on RMB appreciation. Ever since last May, with respect to the offshore RMB, the exchange rate has rebounded from a low of 7.2 US dollar and once climbed up to 12%. Based on the perspective of technical indicators, the RMB has the possibility to test the 6.3 US dollar level in the short-term.

In the medium and long-term, the trend of the RMB will largely depend on the future direction of US monetary policy. Considering that core inflation must remain above 2% for a longer period, we still tend to believe that, for the time being, interest rate will not be possible to increase until the latter part of 2023 at the earliest. As US economic output resumes to its pre-epidemic levels, the Federal Reserve (Fed) can gradually reduce the scale of bond purchases by next year. The Fed may deliver a message to the market of policy tightening in the fourth quarter of this year, with an increasing possibility of a strengthening US dollar at that time. Therefore, the RMB may give back part of its appreciation later this year, while the year-end target exchange rate is provisionally set at 6.5 US dollar.

(Written on 3rd June 2021)

Crystal Chan

Crystal Chan
Senior Investment Specialist
Principal Asset Management (Asia)

DISCLOSURES
Investment involves risks. Past performance of any particular fund or product mentioned in this document is not indicative of future performance of the relevant fund or product, and the value of each fund or product mentioned in this document may go down as well as up. You should not invest solely in reliance on this document. There is no assurance on investment returns and you may not get back the amount originally invested.
You should consider your own risk tolerance level and financial circumstances before making any investment choices. If you are in doubt as to whether a certain fund or product mentioned in this document is suitable for you (including whether it is consistent with your investment objectives), you should seek legal, financial, tax, accounting and other professional advice to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to that your circumstances and financial position, and choose the fund(s)/product(s) suitable for you accordingly.
The information contained in this document has been derived from sources believed to be accurate and reliable as of the date of publishing of this document, and may no longer be true, accurate or complete when viewed by you. The content is for informational purpose only and does not constitute an offer, a solicitation of an offer or invitation, advertisement, inducement, representation of any kind or form whatsoever or any advice or recommendation to enter into any transactions in respect of the funds/products referred to in this document. This document is not intended to be relied upon as a forecast, research, or investment advice regarding a particular investment or the markets in general, nor is it intended to predict or guarantee the performance of any investment. The information does not take account of any investor’s investment objectives, particular needs or financial situation. You should not consider the information as a comprehensive statement to be relied upon. All expressions of opinion and predictions in this document are subject to change without notice.
Subject to any contrary provisions of applicable law, neither the companies, nor any of their affiliates, nor any of the employees or directors of the companies and their affiliates, warrants or guarantees the accuracy of the information contained in this document, nor accepts any responsibility arising out of or in connection with any errors or omissions of the contents set out in this document.
This document is the property of Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited that no part of this document may be modified, reproduced, transmitted, stored or distributed to any other person or incorporation in any format for any purposes without Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited’s prior written consent.
Source of this document is from Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited. 
This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.
This document is issued by Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited.

Start investing in your financial future

We need your basic information to get started!

home-get-started