信安每月觀點(2021年9月)

問:信安資金管理(亞洲)投資管理團隊

答:信安資金管理(亞洲)高級投資策略師陳曉蓉

 

問:聯儲局「收水」對市場有何影響?

答:在全球央行年會,聯儲局主席鮑威爾並未有就「收水」時間表提供更多信息,只是大致重申上月議息會議紀錄的內容,即通脹大致由過渡性因素主導;就業市場有明顯進展,惟實質情況比起失業率所反映的疲弱。他又提到,雖然未構成主要風險,惟經濟取得的進展亦受Delta變種病毒的威脅所影響。同一時間,即使局方今年展開縮減買債,亦不代表加息會隨之而來。

在他整個講話當中,最被投資者視為放鴿的一部分,可能是就著過早收緊政策的討論。鮑威爾指出,在錯誤時間推出的政策,有機會拖慢招聘及其他經濟活動。我們認為,比起到底是今年12月抑或明年1月展開縮減買債計劃,又或者買債規模是否每個月縮減100億或150億美元,更重要的是,在聯儲局與市場溝通政策的時候,到底經濟是否有條件承受政策的轉變。

事實上,最新公布的八月非農就業數據亦印證了這一觀點。美國八月非農職位新增23.5萬個,遠低於市場預期的約73萬個,創7個月以來新低。美國近期Delta變種病毒確診個案急升疊加極端天氣的影響,增加了經濟短期增長的壓力。美國計劃從9月20日開始為美國民眾提供第三劑新冠疫苗,隨著Delta引發的新增個案繼續見頂然後回落,就業市場或能重返早前的復蘇軌道。美國新一輪疫情能否受控,將影響聯儲局的退市策略。

2013年的「縮減恐慌」 (taper tantrum),正正由於當年聯儲局主席伯南克,在經濟狀況相對疲弱時提出收緊政策的想法,導致市場陷入一片恐慌。八年後的今天, 雖然變種病毒令美國確診數字再度上升,有機會拖慢當地第三季零售銷售及整體經濟增長,惟基數效應下,下半年經濟預期仍將錄得相對可觀增長;至於通脹,隨著與經濟重啟相關因素的影響逐步消退,整體物價有機會在第四季逐步回落,惟數字仍將高企直至明年較後期重返約2%水平。

整體而言,美國經濟背景比起2013年強勁,市場普遍亦已經建立今年底、明年初將會展開縮減計劃的預期,因此,只要未來幾個月的經濟數據延續此前趨勢,聯儲局與市場充分溝通,即使年底前開始縮減買債,對經濟及資產價格的影響相信亦非常有限。

 

問:今年以來美國和歐洲股票市場表現出色,未來是否還有上升空間?

答:第三季過了大半,縱使市場曾再度受Delta變種病毒困擾,避險情緒拖累債息下滑,惟成熟市場的抗跌力相對較好。截至八月底,美國及歐洲股市今季分別累升約5%及3.5%,延續上半年強勢。頭八個月,兩地股市分別累升逾20%及17%,領先其他主要市場。

美國即使面對貨幣政策收緊的壓力,聯儲局在調整利率上的取態仍然相對審慎,美國較大機會在2023年才會步入加息周期,因此,相對起部分亞洲及新興市場,當地的貨幣政策以至金融狀況依然偏向寬鬆,有望持續為股市表現帶來支持。

即使目前市場估值高於五年及十年平均,盈利前景向好仍有機會支持股價持續向上。以標普500指數為例,即使下半年企業盈利增長將較上半年放緩,全年盈利增長仍有機會高達40%以上。這些因素皆有望持續帶動美股的表現。

歐洲方面,我們同樣依然相對看好。雖然疫苗接種起步較慢,但目前整體覆蓋率已突破六成,超越美國;因此,即使區內國家亦受變種病毒威脅,惟新增個案相對受控,疫苗接種率較高的部分國家甚至計劃解除所有限制,隨著經濟逐步重啟,消費有機會帶動下半年的歐洲經濟進一步回升。

隨著歐元區通脹逐步升溫,歐洲央行即將落實縮減買債行動,惟當地金融狀況仍然高度寬鬆,支持股市造好。加上九月份即將舉行的德國大選,綠黨有望參與組成聯合政府,無論為國內抑或歐盟整體,均帶來財政擴張的憧憬。

今年來資金明顯流入歐洲,尤其是ESG資產部署。雖然歐洲股市在全球市值佔比不算高,但ESG領域的資產佔比則高達30%以上。我們預期,在企業盈利持續改善、經濟走出低通膨陰霾、及資金流向支持下,歐洲股市短、中期表現仍有機會領先。

 

問:中國經濟面臨下行壓力,中港股市應該如何部署?

答:隨著基數效應消退,極端天氣以及Delta變種病毒導致新一輪疫情爆發,踏入第三季後,中國經濟數據持續放緩。八月官方製造業及非製造業PMI均跌至一年半低位,當中,非製造業商業指數更大跌至47.5的收縮區域,反映疫情對於市場需求造成的打擊比預期嚴重。

仔細分析數據,服務業所受的衝擊最大,服務業PMI從七月的52.5下挫至八月的45.2,為去年二月疫情首度大爆發後首次跌至收縮區域。當中,包括運輸、餐飲及消閒等與疫情相關的服務領域最受影響。事實上,七月份,內地公布的經濟數據普遍不及預期,無論是工業、消費抑或投資活動指標都顯示經濟增速較六月明顯放緩。

整體而言,在疫情的未知數,及整體出口、消費及房地產領域有機會較上半年顯著放緩的影響下,中國經濟正面對較大下行壓力。因此,今年餘下時間,市場可期待政策層面或加大支持力度,重點保持經濟在合理區間運行。在貨幣政策方面,人民銀行或更趨寬鬆,年底前存款準備金率或再下調一次,幅度50點子,流動性預期維持相對充裕。財政政策方面,其他促進經濟增長的措施亦有望加強,如加快地方政府專項債發行,及推出針對支持中小企業的政策。

面對經濟下行壓力加劇,市場憧憬不同行業的監管政策環境或將稍為放鬆,但由於相關政策或有利於內地長遠發展,我們認為放寬的可能性甚低。近期中國的監管政策反映,一旦某產業被視為觸及大眾利益,或是重要的政策目標,例如人口增長及提升人均可支配收入等,中央有機會將社會方面的考量放於資本市場之上。普遍而言,我們認為,中央關注穩定的四大支柱包括銀行業、反壟斷監管、數據安全和社會平等。由於受政策波及的行業或者個股集中在香港或美國上市,監管壓力短期內或將持續拖累在港上市的中概股的走勢。

因此,總括而言,面對下半年經濟放緩,縱使內地財政及貨幣政策支持力度有望加大,但行業監管壓力仍有機會凌駕市場情緒,若南向資金持續流出,將影響港股表現。相對而言,A股成交近日高企,投資者開戶數量增加,融資融券餘額曾創近三年新高,反映投資者對內地市場取態相對有信心。A股目前市場估值處於過去十年平均水平,上證指數全年盈利或增長近四成,較港股的單位數增幅理想。在基本因素、流動性及市場情緒支持下,內地股市前景或相對樂觀。

(於2021年9月8日撰寫)

Crystal Chan

信安資金管理(亞洲)
高級投資策略師 陳曉蓉

資料披露
投資涉及風險。本文件中就任何特定基金或產品所提及的過往表現未必可代表相關基金或產品的未來表現,而且本文件中所提及的任何基金或產品的價值可跌亦可升。您於決定投資之前,不應單一依賴本文件。投資回報並無保證,您可能無法取回全部投資本金。當您作出任何投資選擇前,您必須考慮自己可承受風險的程度及財務狀況。

如果您對本文件中提及的某些基金或產品是否適合您(包括那些基金或產品是否符合您的投資目標)有疑問,您必須徵詢法律、財務、稅務、會計及其他專業意見,以確保您作出的任何投資決定切合您的情況及財務狀況,並且選擇適合您的基金及╱或產品。

本文件之內容於發佈當日來自被認為是準確及可靠的資訊,但當您查看本文件時,本文件所載資訊可能已不再是真實,準確或完整。本內容僅供參考之用,並不構成要約、招攬或邀請、宣傳、誘使、或任何種類或形式之申述,或訂立任何本文件中所提及的基金及╱或產品交易的任何建議或推薦。本文件並無意被視為任何特定投資及或一般市場的預測、研究或投資建議,亦無意被視為預測或保證任何投資表現。本文件之內容並無考慮任何投資者的投資目標、特別需要或財務狀況。您不應將本文件之內容視為一個能依賴的全面性闡述。本文件中所有以任何形式表達的觀點會隨時更改而不另行通知。

在沒有抵觸任何法律規定的前提下,本公司、本公司的任何聯屬公司、或本公司及本公司的任何聯屬公司的任何僱員或任何董事,概不保證及擔保本文件所載資訊的準確性,亦概不對本文件的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何責任。


本文件為信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司所擁有,如未取得信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司的事先書面同意,任何人士或機構均不可以任何方式及為任何目的修改、複製、傳送、儲存或分發任何內容。

本文件資料由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司提供。

本文件並未呈交香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會審核。

本文件由信安資金管理(亞洲)有限公司刊發。

馬上投資您的財務將來!

提供您的基本資料我們方可為您跟進!

home-get-started

Principal Monthly Viewpoints (September 2021)

Q: Principal Asset Management (Asia) Investment Management Team

A: Crystal Chan, Principal Asset Management (Asia) Senior Investment Specialist

 

Q:How will the FED tapering impact the market?

A: At the latest Jackson Hole Symposium, Fed Chair Powell was tight-lipped about the tapering schedule, choosing to reiterate the talking points from last month’s FOMC meeting instead, such as inflation being driven by transitory factors, and labour markets being weaker than what the headline unemployment rates indicate, despite having made considerable progress. He also mentioned that while the Delta variant is yet to pose a serious risk, it will still threaten economic advancement. He added that although the Fed may cut bond purchases this year, it will not be necessarily followed by rate hikes.

Investors saw Powell’s discussion of tightening policy prematurely as a dovish signal. He pointed out that policies introduced at a wrong time may hinder recruitment and other economic activities. From our standpoint, whether tapering begins in December or January, or whether bond purchases are reduced to USD 10 or 15 billion per month isn’t as crucial as the economy’s ability to withstand the impacts of shifting policy when the Fed communicates its intentions to the market.

The non-agricultural employment data in August coincides with our stance. 235,000 non-agricultural jobs were added in the US during the month, far lower than 730,000 predicted by markets, a record low in seven months. The recent surge in Delta variant cases and the impact of extreme weather conditions had put economic growth under greater pressure in the short run. With the US government planning to administer a third dose of Covid-19 vaccine to the public from September 20 onwards, and new Delta variant cases dipping from peak, labour markets may return to the trajectory of recovery. Whether the country can control this new wave of Covid-19 will affect the Fed’s exit strategy.

The taper tantrum in 2013 happened because the then-Fed Chair Bernanke advocated tighter policy in times of relative economic weakness, causing markets to panic. Eight years later, while Covid-19 variants have led to a rebound in the number of confirmed cases in the US, possibly impeding retail sales and overall growth in the third quarter, the economy is still predicted to record considerable growth in the second half of the year due to the base effect. As for inflation, since the impact of factors related to economic reopening is gradually receding, overall price levels may fall further in the fourth quarter but will remain high before returning to around 2% later next year.

Generally speaking, the US economic background is stronger than it was in 2013, and markets have arrived at the consensus that tapering will commence by the end of this year or early next year. Therefore, as long as economic data maintain momentum over the next few months, and the Fed communicates its intentions clearly to markets, even if tapering begins before the end of the year, the economy and asset prices should experience limited impact.

 

Q:Is there room for US and European stocks to further advance after this year’s stellar performance?

A: With the third quarter almost over, developed markets have been relatively resilient despite the Delta variant leading to risk aversion and falling bond yields. At the end of August, US and European stocks extended the rally of the first half of the year, gaining 5% and 3.5%, respectively. Both markets led other major markets, rising by over 20% and 17% respectively in the first eight months.

Notwithstanding the prospects of tighter monetary policy in the US, the Fed remains cautious about rate hikes, and it is not expected to enter a rate hike cycle until 2023. Compared with some Asian and emerging markets, US monetary policy and financial conditions remain accommodative, which should support stock market performance.

Even current market valuations are higher than the five and ten-year averages, the positive earnings outlook may still prop up stock prices. Taking the S&P 500 as an example, earnings growth for the whole year could still exceed 40%, even if corporate earnings growth in the second half is slower than the first half. These factors bode well for US stocks.

Europe is another market we remain constructive on. Despite the continent’s slower vaccination rollout, the current coverage rate of over 60% has already surpassed that of US. While countries within the region continue to face the threat of virus variants, the number of new cases is relatively under control and countries with high vaccination rates are even planning to lift all restrictions. As the economy gradually opens up, consumption should drive Europe’s economy in the latter half of the year.

Rising inflation in the Eurozone has prompted the ECB to consider cutting back on bond purchases, but highly accommodative financial conditions should boost stock markets. In Germany, federal elections are set to take place this September and the Green Party may form a coalition government, giving rise to expectations of fiscal expansion domestically and within EU.

Europe has received large capital inflows this year, especially in the ESG sector. European stocks account for only a relatively small share of global market value but represent more than 30% of ESG assets worldwide. With improved corporate earnings, low inflation no longer affecting the economy and an influx of capital, these factors will put European stocks ahead of the pack in the short-to-mid-term.

 

Q: What is the strategy for China and HK stocks with the Mainland economy facing downward pressure?

A: Data from the third quarter continued to reflect a downturn in the Chinese economy, owing to the base effect subsiding, extreme weather and the new wave of confirmed cases caused by the Delta variant. Official manufacturing and non-manufacturing PMI in August fell to a one-and-a-half-year low, with the latter slumping to 47.5, indicating a contraction and Covid-19’s impact on market demand being more severe than expected.

A more in-depth look at the data shows that the service industry has been hit the hardest, as the sector’s PMI was knocked down from 52.5 in July to 45.2 in August, the first contraction since the coronavirus outbreak last February. Transport, catering, leisure and other pandemic-related fields were impacted the most. In fact, the economic data announced in July generally fell short of expectations, as industrial, consumption and investment indices all pointed to much slower economic growth compared with June.

On the whole, uncertainties arising from the pandemic, coupled with the possibility of significantly lower exports, consumption and real estate activity than the first half should put China’s economy under greater downward pressure. For the rest of the year, markets can expect enhanced policy support, aimed at keeping economic growth within a reasonable range. In terms of monetary policy, PBOC may take a more accommodative stance, reducing the required reserve ratio by 50bps once more by the end of the year, to ensure adequate liquidity. On the other hand, more stimulative fiscal policies should be on the horizon, such as expediting the issuance of local government special bonds, and introducing policies targeted at supporting SMEs.

As downward pressure on the economy intensifies, markets are anticipating a more relaxed regulatory environment for various industries. However, since the policies already in place are beneficial in the long run, we think they are unlikely to be relaxed. Recent regulatory policies in the Mainland show that if a sector is deemed harmful to public interest, or critical to policy goals, such as population growth and increasing disposable income per capita, the Central Government may put the concerns of society ahead of capital markets. Broadly speaking, we think Beijing will strive to achieve stability in the four main areas of banking, anti-monopoly regulation, data security and social equality. Since the sectors and stocks affected by such policies are mostly listed in Hong Kong or the US, China Concepts Stock listed in Hong Kong will continue to be affected by regulatory pressure in the short run.

To conclude, faced with economic slowdown in the second half, despite the introduction of more supportive fiscal and monetary policies in the Mainland, regulatory pressure on industries may trump market sentiment. HK stocks may be affected if southbound capital continues to experience outflows. Conversely, recent trading volume of A-shares has been high, there has been an increase in new investor accounts, margin trading and short selling has hit a three-year high, which reflects investor confidence in the China market. The current market valuation of A-shares is at the average level of the past ten years. Corporate earnings in the SSE Composite Index may grow close to 40% this year, far better than the single-digit growth of its HK counterpart. Conducive fundamentals, liquidity and market sentiment paint a relatively brighter future of the Chinese stocks.

(Written on 8th September 2021)

Crystal Chan

Crystal Chan
Senior Investment Specialist
Principal Asset Management (Asia)

DISCLOSURES
Investment involves risks. Past performance of any particular fund or product mentioned in this document is not indicative of future performance of the relevant fund or product, and the value of each fund or product mentioned in this document may go down as well as up. You should not invest solely in reliance on this document. There is no assurance on investment returns and you may not get back the amount originally invested.
You should consider your own risk tolerance level and financial circumstances before making any investment choices. If you are in doubt as to whether a certain fund or product mentioned in this document is suitable for you (including whether it is consistent with your investment objectives), you should seek legal, financial, tax, accounting and other professional advice to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to that your circumstances and financial position, and choose the fund(s)/product(s) suitable for you accordingly.
The information contained in this document has been derived from sources believed to be accurate and reliable as of the date of publishing of this document, and may no longer be true, accurate or complete when viewed by you. The content is for informational purpose only and does not constitute an offer, a solicitation of an offer or invitation, advertisement, inducement, representation of any kind or form whatsoever or any advice or recommendation to enter into any transactions in respect of the funds/products referred to in this document. This document is not intended to be relied upon as a forecast, research, or investment advice regarding a particular investment or the markets in general, nor is it intended to predict or guarantee the performance of any investment. The information does not take account of any investor’s investment objectives, particular needs or financial situation. You should not consider the information as a comprehensive statement to be relied upon. All expressions of opinion and predictions in this document are subject to change without notice.
Subject to any contrary provisions of applicable law, neither the companies, nor any of their affiliates, nor any of the employees or directors of the companies and their affiliates, warrants or guarantees the accuracy of the information contained in this document, nor accepts any responsibility arising out of or in connection with any errors or omissions of the contents set out in this document.
This document is the property of Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited that no part of this document may be modified, reproduced, transmitted, stored or distributed to any other person or incorporation in any format for any purposes without Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited’s prior written consent.
Source of this document is from Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited. 
This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.
This document is issued by Principal Asset Management Company (Asia) Limited.

Start investing in your financial future

We need your basic information to get started!

home-get-started